Old Site
Department — Anesthesiology & Critical CareOverview

The Department of Anaesthesia in Christian Medical College started in 1966. MD anaesthesia course started in the same year. Dr. Susy was the first doctor who did MD Anaesthesia form this department. Dr. Murphy was the first head of the department. Then Dr. Forbat for a few years. Next Head of the department was Dr. Frank N.Prior who served the department till 1983. Dr. Pritam Singh became head of the department for one year followed by Dr. Daljitam Singh. Dr. Baljinder Kaur became the Head of the Department after Dr. Daljitam Singh and served the institution till 2007. After that Dr. Lalita Afzal headed the department followed by Dr. Mary Verghese. At present Dr. Valsa Abraham is the head of the Department.

The department of anaesthesia is well staffed with 15 senior consultants who take care of the various subunits of the department. 134 MD and 159 DA candidates have been trained in this department till now.

We have conducted two international updates in collaboration with Mayo clinic, USA during the last 3 years. Department has many publications to its credit. Prof. Lalita Afzal and Prof. Valsamma Abraham were the investigators of POISE which is an international study, recently completed and published in Lancet. Prof. Lalita Afzal and Prof. Valsamma Abraham are the investigators for the POISE II and Vision study. We also have ongoing research program for MD trainees.

24/7 Emergency : +91-98148-29301